Most Immediate

F.No.800-24/2016-AS.II
Ministry of Communications
Department of Telecommunications
Sanchar Bhawan, New Delhi
(Access Services Wing)

Dated the 16th May, 2017

Office Memorandum

Subject: 'Stress in balance sheet in select sector' – formation of IMG for telecom sector – reg.

CoS has discussed the issue relating to 'Stress in balance sheet in select sector' in its meeting held on 29th March, 2017. In pursuance of the decision taken in the CoS meeting, the undersigned is directed to convey the approval of the competent authority to constitute an Inter-Ministerial Group (IMG) comprising of:-

- (i) Senior DDG(AS), DoT
- (ii) Senior DDG(LFP), DoT
- (iii) DDG(WPF), DoT
- (iv) DDG(LFA), DoT
- (v) Joint Secretary, Department of Financial Services to be nominated by Secretary, Department of Financial Services
- (vi) Joint Secretary, Department of Economic Affairs to be nominated by Secretary, Department of Economic Affairs
- (vii) Joint Secretary, Department of Revenue to be nominated by Secretary, Department of Revenue
- (viii) Director (AS-V), DoT Convenor of the said Group.
- 2. There terms of reference of IMG are as follows:
 - (i) To examine systemic issues affecting viability and repayment capacity in telecom sector and furnish recommendations for resolution of stressed assets at the earliest.
 - (ii) Policy reforms and strategic interventions for telecom sector.

- 3. The IMG is authorised to invite nominees from telecom sector and financial institutions and co-opt any other Member.
- 4. IMG shall submit its recommendations within 3 months.

(S.B.Singh) Director (AS-V)

Tel.:9013135525

e-mail: sb.singh66@gov.in

To

- (i) Secretary, Department of Financial Services with a request to nominate a Joint Secretary
- (ii) Secretary, Department of Economic Affairs with a request to nominate a Joint Secretary
- (iii) Secretary, Department of Revenue with a request to nominate a Joint Secretary
- (iv) Senior DDG(AS), DoT
- (v) Senior DDG(LFP), DoT
- (vi) DDG(WPF), DoT
- (vii) DDG(LFA), DoT

Copy to:

- 1. PS to MoSC(I/C)
- 2. Sr.PPS to Secretary (T)
- 3. Member (T)
- 4. Member (F)
- 5. Under Secretary, Department of Financial Services, Ministry of Finance (Shri Soumyajit Ghosh)